BMW drivers are jerks?

A few weeks ago, on Black Friday, my parents surprised me with a new car as an upcoming graduation gift! I previously drove a 2004 Toyota Celica that had a dent on the passenger door (thanks to my sister) and an engine light that wouldn’t turn off no matter our attempts to fix it. It was so low to the ground and had no room for passengers. My parents felt like I needed a more spacious adult vehicle. Needless to say, I was so beyond excited to get a “new-to-me” car.

You could imagine my surprise when they handed me the keys to a (used) BMW X5! Never in my wildest dreams did I see myself driving a “luxury” vehicle. I’m extremely thankful and love my new ride, but I feel like there are certain stigmas about BMW drivers that people have. I decided to do some research.

Apparently, studies done in the U.S. and the UK provide statistical evidence that BMW drivers are jerks.

giphy

A study from the Institute of Personality and Social Research at the University of California Berkeley observed how drivers acted at stop-and-go intersections where they had to deal with pedestrians. In their study they saw that eighty percent of drivers in common brand vehicles stopped and waited for pedestrians. However, luxury car drivers, especially BMWs and Mercedes Benzes, were extremely less patient or concerned about pedestrian safety. “They consistently ignored the stop signs, only slowing instead of stopping and disregarded crossing pedestrians,” said researcher Paul K. Piff. “Fancy cars were less likely to stop. BMW drivers were the worst,” he said.

So there you have it. Exciting new car with jerk persona included.

So what do you think? Is there any merit to this claim? What are your experiences with bad drivers or specific vehicle brand drivers?

I’d like to think of myself as a nice person despite the car I drive. I promise to always look both ways and stop for pedestrians.

 

Sources:

The Detroit News

Leave a Reply

