What kind of dog is that?

As stated in a previous post, my pet dog, Ducky, is my world. I have loved her since the day that I found her on the road near my house. So many people love her playful, tender spirit and I often get the question, “What kind of dog is she?”

Before doing any research, I have always just assumed that she has some dachshund in her blood somewhere because of the resemblance in her face. She acts like a dachshund and sort of looks like one, only taller. I became curious myself and decided I wanted to find out for sure what sort of mix she is.

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 9.54.31 AM

At our next visit to the vet, I brought up the question to the doc. He told me, in his professional opinion, that she may have some chihuahua in her lineage. He based this off of how nervous she would get around him. However, she has no temper or mean attitude that most chihuahuas I’ve met have so I wonder how accurate his opinion is. Other than that, perhaps some terrier because of the energy she has and her size.

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 9.54.41 AM

As hopeful as I was for answers, the vet only gave me possible explanations. I began looking online to compare her to other breeds that I felt were similar. I’ve always thought that she resembled an italian greyhound based on the shape of her body, but there had to be more in the mix somewhere.

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 9.54.51 AM

My only option in truly discovering the truth is to submit a DNA sample in order to receive accurate results. Unfortunately, the costs of these tests are quite high for mere curiosity.

So, for now I am satisfied with the not knowing. No matter her true breed mixture, she will always be a Ducky to me.

If you are interested in identifying your dog’s breed, you can follow a few of these steps that I’ve taken or you can even submit a DNA sample to be sure:

  • Compare breed pictures
  • Ask your vet’s opinion
  • Contact local kennel club
  • Submit a DNA sample

 

Source: http://dogs.lovetoknow.com/how-do-i-figure-out-what-breed-my-dog-is

 

Leave a Reply

