The Eye Scare

 

You may not know this about me, but I am a proud dog parent. My dog is Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 7.22.02 AMbasically my child and I take her everywhere with me. She is my best friend and an important part of my family. Her name is Ducky and she is a chestnut colored mutt, but the she’s cutest one I’ve ever known.

A few weeks ago noticed that Ducky’s left eye was a little glossy. I began to panic because I thought it was a sign that she was losing her sight. I thought to myself, “This can’t be right, she’s so young! Dogs don’t lose their vision until they’re older.” I quickly called my local veterinary clinic, Griffith’s Veterinary Clinic and asked if it was something I should be concerned about. The vet secretary urged me to bring her in because animals’ eyes are so fragile.

Hours later I arrived at the vet with my dog-child in hand and we waited for the doc to see us. He came in and gave Ducky a thorough eye exam. He soon quieted my fears and told me that the fogginess in her eye simply meant that her eye was inflamed. He told me that she may have gotten something in her eye while frolicking about outside and if the eye begins to tear that I should bring her back for treatment.

I was intrigued when he told me that a dog’s eye could heal itself within a 30-minute time frame. This led me to do research on my own. I discovered that the healing time for eye injuries in dogs differs with the severity of the injury. For minor injuries like Ducky’s it only takes a short amount of time for the eye to heal itself. In more severe cases, medication, protective collars and even surgery may be necessary. According to PetMD.com some of the most common causes of eye injuries in dogs include:

  • When your dog has been running through heavy vegetation
  • Gunshot, fireworks, or other rapid projectiles in the vicinity of your dog
  • Pre-existing visual impairment or deformity in the structure of the eye
  • Young, naïve, or highly excitable dogs that have not learned caution
  • Fights with other animals; most notably, cats will scratch at the faces of dogs

Some of the other reasons for cloudy eyes like Ducky’s are dog cataracts and nuclear sclerosis. The eye cloudiness symptom can appear similar for cataracts and nuclear sclerosis so organicpetdigest.com defines the differences between the two in an article titled “Dog Eye Problems.” The article says, “Dog cataracts is usually genetic and causes the clear lens behind the pupil to become cloudy or white. It causes the dog’s vision to worsen over time, eventually to the point of blindness.” Additionally it writes, “Nuclear sclerosis is a common and normal condition of aging, where a bluish gray (not cloudy or white) change to the lens is seen. With nuclear sclerosis, vision can become blurry but it does not lead to blindness or the more significant vision problems caused by dog cataracts. While cataracts is often genetic, it can be a result of injury or stem from chronic disease or immune problems.”

Please be sure to keep your pets eyes healthy. They are the windows to their furry souls! If you happen to see any discoloration or cloudiness in your pet’s eyes be sure to contact or visit a vet to start the appropriate treatment as soon as possible. Luckily for Ducky it was nothing major, but my hope is that this information will benefit others in a similar situation.

Sources: http://www.petmd.com/dog/conditions/eyes/c_dg_corneal_scleral_lacerations

http://www.organic-pet-digest.com/dog-eye-problems.html

Leave a Reply

