We are your teachers

Zeynep Altinay aka ‘Z’

z

I am a Ph.D. candidate at Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University. My research  integrates many aspects of science, technology, and society.  I hold MS in Environmental Science from Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs and MA in Journalism. I have professional media experience in environmental reporting (print, broadcast and on-line platforms). I have taught  undergraduate courses in visual communication, multimedia design (come see me if you have interest in data visualization or simply improving your multimedia skills!), public relations, and science writing.

Paige Brown Jarreau aka ‘From The Lab Bench’

edit 7I am a final year Ph.D. student in the Manship School, studying at the intersection of science journalism, new media, science and environmental communication. I have a long history in ‘hard’ science, with a B.S. and M.S. in Biological Engineering from LSU. But now, I study how science becomes news in a variety of formats, and how science media can shape our perceptions of scientific and environmental problems. I’ve been blogging about science ever since I decided to make the transition from a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering to one in science communication, at my SciLogs.com blog From The Lab Bench. PLEASE interact with me outside of class, via Twitter (@FromTheLabBench) or e-mail. I hope to inspire in you a love for science and the environment, but more importantly a spirit of critical thinking when it comes to science research and science news.

 

Leave a Reply

